Nominations for Henson, Morris, and Volunteer Awards Sought

The Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore is accepting nominations until August 26, 2016 for the Richard A. Henson Award for Nonprofit Excellence, the Frank H. Morris Humanitarian Award, and the Mary Gladys Jones Volunteer of the Year Award.

These awards are considered among the most prestigious honoring philanthropic service in this region. Recipients must first be nominated by the public and then are selected by a committee of community volunteers. The award recipients will be announced at the Community Foundation’s Annual Meeting and Luncheon on Friday November 4th, 2016 at The Foundations Conference Center in Salisbury. To nominate an individual or organization for one of the awards, visit and submit the nomination form for the corresponding award, or by calling the Community Foundation offices at 410-742-9911.

Mary Gladys Jones Volunteer of the Year Award: Recognizes an individual who has made outstanding, sustained and unselfish contributions to community service. This person should represent outstanding achievement in the field of direct community service—volunteers from the tri-county region who have given back to their community in such areas as youth, education, human services, community development, health or the environment. The Foundation will grant $1,000 to the Volunteer of the Year Award winner’s charity of choice.

Richard A. Henson Award for Nonprofit Excellence: Presented annually to a qualified 501(c)3 nonprofit organization in Somerset, Wicomico, or Worcester counties which has implemented a program or project that has made an outstanding contribution to the well-being of residents of the Lower Eastern Shore. $5,000 donation to the recipient. Criteria for this Award corresponds closely to the late local philanthropist Richard Henson’s philosophy that achievement in the nonprofit sector should demonstrate an entrepreneurial spirit and creatively utilizes resources to provide effective and timely responses to critical or emerging community needs.

Frank H. Morris Humanitarian Award: Recognizes an individual who has made outstanding, sustained, and unselfish contributions to community enrichment and whose vital ideas and personal sacrifices exemplify the philanthropic spirit of our community. Criteria for the Award include qualities of exemplary leadership, vision, integrity, compassion, cooperation, and generosity of time and talents. The Foundation grants $1,000 to the Morris Award winner’s charity of choice.



1324 Belmont Ave., Ste. 401

Salisbury, Maryland 21804

Tel: 410.742.9911


Mon. - Fri. 8 am - 4 pm

SUMMER HOURS: April 19 - Sept. 3

Mon. - Thurs. 8 am - 4:00 pm

Friday by appointment


  • insta CFES
  • Twitter CFES

Get involved.

Get Updates On Special Events & Nonprofit News

© Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore, Inc. 2021